Millions of gamers come together in the virtual space of CS:GO to enjoy competitive matches. How to unite teammates of a comparable level and give them equal competitors? The in-game ranking system does this job perfectly well, by separating the players into 18 cs go competitive ranks.

In this CSGO guide, you’ll find all the meaningful information about those csgo ranks. The more you understand about the inner processes in the game, the more you get from your practical experiences.

Why should you know about CS:GO ranks system?

The primary purpose of ranks in csgo and other multiplayer games is to allow players of equal skills to play with each other. There is no point for beginners to fight against professional opponents – they will get destroyed and sense no joy from the playing process. There is no point for skilled players to have newbies as opponents – any game loses its attractiveness by becoming too comfortable.

CSGO ranks allow newcomers to play with/against newcomers, and advanced players will be able to play with/against each other. Also, the ranks provide a way to verify your in-game progress, to feel your skill improving match after match. That is all they designed to achieve, and the fuss around them is just a goal of gamers to feel better, which is quite understandable for a competitive game.

CS:GO Ranking System

There are 18 CS GO ranks:

  • Silver I (S1)
  • Silver II (S2)
  • Silver III (S3)
  • Silver IV (S4)
  • Silver Elite (SE);
  • Silver Elite Master (SEM);
  • Gold Nova I (GN1);
  • Gold Nova III (GN3);
  • Gold Nova Master (GNM/GN4)
  • Master Guardian I (MG/MG1);
  • Master Guardian II (MG2);
  • Master Guardian Elite (MGE);
  • Distinguished Master Guardian (DMG);
  • Legendary Eagle (LE);
  • Legendary Eagle Master (LEM);
  • Supreme Master First Class (SMFC);
  • The Global Elite (GE).



You will find a tier arrangement in the CSGO ranking system:

  • Six ranks for newcomers (from S1 to SEM). Many players here don’t have enough sense to use any game strategy, to organize communication in teams, or even to shoot accurately enough;
  • Seven ranks for experienced players (from GN1 to MGE). Here you have high chances to meet players with excellent knowledge of the game. They can use various tactics and can organize well-coordinated teamwork. These players know smoke positions, maps, and weapons – their in-game skills are pretty good.
  • Five ranks for the best professional players (from DMG to GE). You might think these guys are hackers, but they are not hacking. They are practicing cs go for a very long duration. Their perfect shoots, first predictions of opponents’ actions, good knowledge about the game, and just super successful strategies are the outcome of significant experience and skill.

This classification into tiers is perfectly visible in the CSGO new ranking system.